Lex Mundi Announces New Appointments to its Board of Directors with Carlos Velázquez De León Taking the Helm as Chair

Additionally, Five Directors Begin New Terms

15th May 2024
Carlos Velazquez Grayscale (2)

Carlos Velázquez De León was elected Chair of Lex Mundi’s Board of Directors following the meeting that took place in London on May 10, 2024, at Lex Mundi’s Annual Connect & Collaborate Conference. Lex Mundi is the world’s leading network of independent law firms, with 150+ member firms and more than 22,000 lawyers worldwide.

Velázquez de León, a Partner in Mexico with leading law firm Basham, Ringe Y Correa, S.C., has served on Lex Mundi’s Board of Directors since 2020 and has previously held the positions of Secretary and Chair-Elect, and remains an Executive Committee Member. In his role as Chair, he will leverage his extensive experience to support Lex Mundi's Board in crafting and realizing Lex Mundi's global vision.

“Assuming this new role, I am acutely aware of the ever-evolving nature of the global legal landscape, with new and powerful players emerging to remind us of the opportunities and challenges that await us. It is now more important than ever to close our ranks and show the world that Lex Mundi firms are unmatched at achieving the highest standards in legal services. I have no doubt that with Lex Mundi’s focus on global vision, innovation, collaboration, and a commitment to our core values, we will continue to be at the cutting edge of the industry."

Helena Samaha, Lex Mundi President & CEO, added, “We are delighted to welcome Carlos to the role of Chair. His leadership will be crucial as we embark on a new strategic plan for Lex Mundi’s future success and development, and we look forward to taking that strategy forward under Carlos’s stewardship.”

Lex Mundi’s Board of Directors also elected Aniekan Ukpanah, Udo Udoma & Belo-Osagie (Nigeria) to the position of Chair-Elect, Eduardo Geli, Uría Menéndez (Spain) to the position of Secretary, and Kristin Lentz, Davis Graham & Stubbs (USA, Colorado) to the position of Treasurer.

Mikko Manner, Roschier (Finland), and Meredith Rathbone, Steptoe LLP (USA, District of Columbia) join the Lex Mundi Executive Committee alongside the chair emeritus, Kate McGilvray, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP (Canada, Albert, Ontario, and Quebec), Helena Samaha, Lex Mundi’s President and CEO, and the current officers named above.

At Lex Mundi’s Annual Meeting of Members, the membership elected five new directors to the Lex Mundi Board of Directors: Naval Chopra, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co.(India), Savantha De Saram, D. L. & F. De Saram (Sri Lanka), Noor Radhi, Hassan Radhi & Associates (Bahrain), Meredith Rathbone, Steptoe LLP (USA, District of Columbia) and Carlo Viacava, Estudio Olaechea (Peru). They will serve four-year terms.